The Nigel Greenwood Prize is delighted to announce that Hannah Rickards and Ima-Abasi Okon have been awarded this year’s Nigel Greenwood artist residencies.

Hannah Rickards receives the Nigel Greenwood Art Prize (3 months/£5000) and Ima-Abasi Okon received the Nigel Greenwood Research Prize (1 month/£1000).

Judges’ statement:

‘The residency is set in such bucolic surroundings that it naturally lends itself to artists interested in the landscape. The history of the landscape has traditionally been a pictorial one however, so what excites us about inviting Hannah Rickards and Ima-Abasi Okon receiving, respectively, the Nigel Greenwood Art Prize and the Nigel Greenwood Research Prize, is that both artists expressed an interest in aural or sonic space, as much as the visual.

We are delighted to select Hannah Rickards as her work, as stated by the artist, is involved with the possibility of thinking oneself into a landscape. In her proposal she put forward some really beautiful ideas in terms of how the experience of being at Gordon Burns’ cottage for a long period of time might influence/translate to language, sound and gesture in her artworks.

And we are delighted to support Ima-Abasi Okon. Spending time at Gordon Burns’ cottage will give her an opportunity to quietly focus on her work as she is approaching the beginnings of a new body of work. In her statement she talked about ‘exploring ways to maximise magic as both an aesthetic and a sculptural act’ and we are really intrigued to see how the context of this residency might influence this research process.’

The judges’ were greatly impressed by the calibre and diversity of the short-list and congratulations goes to all of the nominated artists.

A huge thank you to our brilliant judges and nominators for their time and invaluable support:

Judges 2018:

Oliver Basciano, International Editor, Art Review
Stella Bottai, Curator, Stanley Picker Gallery
Simon Groom, Director, Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art
Sam McEwan, Artist
Stephanie Straine, Curator, Modern Art Oxford

Nominators 2018:

Hana Noorali and Lynton Talbot, Curators, nominated Mark Barker
Louisa Buck, writer and journalist at The Art Newspaper, Alex McNamee
Rebecca Heald, Curator, nominated Freya Douglas-Morris
Sarah McCrory, Director of Goldsmiths CCA, nominated Ima-Abasi Okon
Sally Shaw, Director of Firstsite, nominated Hannah Rickards

There will be a prize event in June, details to follow ….